In a big blow to the Peoples Party of Arunachal, 7 of its 9 MLAs have joined the Conrad Sangma led National People’s Party (NPP) today.

With this the NPP has become the only regional political party in the region to have its footprint in four northeastern states and one state outside. The MLAs who defected to the NPP are Tanga Byaleng, Nikh Kaming, Rajesh Tacho, Muchu Mithi, Dikto Yekar, Terang Abo and Tapeng Talo.

While speaking to media persons, MLA Tanga Byaleng said that the NPP would only enter into a post-poll alliance with the BJP in the 2019 state assembly elections as well as the Lok Sabha polls, if the need arises.

Speculations of the PPA MLA’s joining the NPP were doing the rounds when the 7 MLAs recently headed to Meghalaya to visit the Meghalaya Chief Minister and NPP President Conrad Sangma in Shillong.

Home Minister James Sangma had denied all conjectures and had termed the meeting between the MLAs and the CM as a mere ‘Courtesy call’. However, this latest development confirms that the 7 PPA members were making plans to shift and join the NPP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.