The Election Commission of India has announced the date for by-polls to the Ranikor assembly seat in Meghalaya.

The by-polls to Ranikor will be held on August 23, the results of which will be announced on August 27. The election commission has fixed July 30 as the date of issuing gazette notification.

Meanwhile, the last date of filing nominations has been fixed on August 6. The last date of withdrawal of candidature is August 9.

The by-polls was necessitated after Martin M Danggo stepped down as the MLA of the Ranikor constituency. Danggo joined the National peoples party led by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Wednesday.

It may be mentioned, that South Tura also goes to by-polls on August 23 where chief minister Conrad Sangma is contesting the elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.