Two assembly constituencies of Meghalaya, South Tura in West Garo Hills and Ranikor in South west Khasi hills will be voting tomorrow to elect their representatives to the state assembly.

A tough contest is expected between Meghalaya Chief Minister and National Peoples party leader Conrad K Sangma and Congress’s Charlotte W Momin and Chris Kabul A Sangma.

John Leslee K Sangma an independent candidate is also fighting for the seat.

The by-poll to South Tura assembly constituency was necessitated following the resignation of NPP legislator Agatha Sangma. Agatha Sangma had resigned on July 2.

She had resigned to help her brother and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma to contest from the constituency and continue in the role of the Chief Minister.

In Ranikor, NPP’s Martin M Danggo is contesting against United Democratic Party (UDP)’s Pius Marwein, People’s Democratic Front (PDF)’s PN Syiem and Congress’s Jackiush Sangma.

The Ranikor assembly seat in South West Khasi Hills district, fell vacant after five-time Congress MLA Martin M Danggo resigned from the assembly on June 21.

Security has been beefed up to ensure a safe and peaceful election. The counting will be held on August 27


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.